Skip to content

The Father’s Business

December 14, 2005

I have been pretty sick over the past number of days and the days prior to that I was overwhelmed with a ton of things I had to do. Many things I needed to do haven’t gotten done and cares of this and that begin to weigh heavily. This morning, I was thinking about all that is going on around me and in me and the Lord brought me back to this passage in Luke 2:49,

“Why is it that you sought Me? Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business”

At age twelve, we find Jesus with a clear understanding of His priority, the Father’s direction. Of course there are many things in this life that we must take care of and are responsible for, but we must remain strong in our priority to be about our Father’s business above all things.

So what is His business? I believe Jesus makes it really plain in Luke 10:27,

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind; and, Love your neighbor as yourself.”

So when the business of life draws us away from intimacy with the Lord and damages our relationships with people, we should pause and check our business with His business.

Abiding,
Scott and Lisa

From → Faith

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

