Skip to content

Simple as Jury Duty and Broken Toes

February 1, 2006

A number of the places I have gone recently, I find myself sharing about getting back to the simple fact of the Gospel. We busy ourselves, pressure ourselves, overplan, over commit to to many things and then find ourselves unhappy and wondering why it is this way.

This past Sunday I had a busy day. I got up early to be at a local church to lead worship with my music class. Lisa didn’t show for the second service and I found out that she woke up really sick and couldn’t make it. So I rushed home after the service to check on her. A few miniutes later, I ran back across town to pick up Victoria. Ran Back across town to take her home. Ran right back across town to a meeting. Finally back across town to arrive home for the evening.

Then I broke my toe.

Yup, the pinky one. Right on the corner of the wall by the bathroom. I was in the middle of a planning phone call with a friend. It’s swollen and diffent shades of purple.

Monday, Lisa had Jury duty. She was very sick, but still had to serve. I had to chase Joseph, get Victoria to and from school. Work on Higher Place Stuff. Teach my class. Take Vic to dance and then head to Grandma’s for dinner. ALL WITH A LIMP!

I began to think. Somewhere in this day there has to be a Simple thing I’m missing. The joy of each breath and the peace that surpasses understanding. I was in pain, tired, worried for Lisa, frustrated with the pace of the day, and ready for a break (LOL).

It really is simple. He loves me. Because He loves me. Nothing changes that. It is the air I breath.

God slapped with a song that night. David Crowder says it well…

And He set me on fire, and I am burning alive.
With His breath in my lungs I am coming undone.
And I cannot hold it in and remain composed.
Love’s taken over me and so I propose the letting myself go.
I am letting myself go.

You are my joy.
You are my joy.
You are my joy.
You are my joy.

I need to catch my breath, I need to.
I need to catch my breath, give me a moment now.

Abiding,
Scott and Lisa

From → Faith, Hobbses

One Comment
  1. Scott (5minutes) permalink

    “I had to chase Joseph, get Victoria to and from school. Work on Higher Place Stuff. Teach my class. Take Vic to dance and then head to Grandma’s for dinner. ALL WITH A LIMP!”

    Welcome to my world… 😛

Leave a Reply

