Skip to content

Every One’s Got A Story

March 8, 2006

I have heard my dad say “every one’s got a story” a number of times and in various situations. I have found my self repeating that statement lately and had a God encounter on the subject, so I thought I would share it with you!

I had just finished having lunch with a friend of mine recently who was home for two week’s leave from Iraq and was preparing to return for nine more months. As I walked outside the restaurant, I was reflecting on that quote from my dad in relation to my friend and I decided to write it down to remind myself to look for some “deep meaning” later. I was sure that hidden in that phrase were some major things God was going to reveal to me because I just couldn’t put my finger on the what stirred me every time I heard it. In that moment, I heard someone call out, “Hello there!” I didn’t look up, because the voice came from down the sidewalk and there were other folks around. I figured the person was talking to someone else. “Hello there!”, I heard a little louder and closer. When I looked up, standing in front of me was an elderly fellow, about my height, with wrinkled clothes, cracked glasses, a wadded up shopping bag in hand, and a tremendous grin on his face. To be honest, I kind of chuckled at the sight. Again and louder, he said, “Hello there!” As if he knew me and was excited to see me. I smiled a responded with, “How are ya?” He simply replied, “Good to see you!” and began to shuffle past me into the restaurant I just came out of. As he entered, he looked to a table on his right and began again, “Hello there!”. The people at the table had the same reaction I did. I could now tell, as I watched him walk and speak, that he was a little unaware of his surroundings, had some obvious medical difficulties related to his movement, speech, and possibly his memory. I was about to move on with my day and pass the moment by writing off the “crazy old” fellow, when God showed up and spoke to my heart! That gentleman, just like me, is on a journey, rich and full of encounters, stories, and struggles. And for him, maybe I was a simple stop on his journey and would not ever remember me, but it was an encounter that made us both smile and left me with a profound awe of the simple, awesome love of God.

Here’s the deep meaning! It is simply looking at folks with the eyes of Christ! Seeing someone of value and purpose standing in front of you, even if you don’t like them or understand them. Even if they are difficult or friendly, young or old, your neighbor or a stranger. You don’t know the story behind the pain on someone’s face or the one behind someone’s anger . . . Until you take the time to know. If we would commit ourselves to take the time, be patient, give a listening ear and compassionate heart to those around us, God would deliver glorious and miraculous ministry opportunities to us just because we cared about someone’s story.

Scripture Says:
“Be quick to listen and slow to speak” ~ James 1:19
“No greater love have a man than he lay down his life for his friends” ~ John 15:13
“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.” ~ Phillipians 2:3

After all, it is laying hold of and listening to a Man’s story that makes the eternal change in the hearts of human beings. “While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us” ~ Romans 5:8; “And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death— even death on a cross!” ~Phillipians 2:8
Abiding,
Scott and Lisa Hobbs

From → Faith

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

