Skip to content

Destiny, Purpose, and What the heck am I doing?

December 29, 2006

I have been thinking a whole lot lately about where I’ve been, what I am currently doing, and where we are headed. I’m not always real sure about all of it. I know that God’s fingerprints of providence and sovereignty are all over this journey of faith, but sometimes we are so sure and others we are so unsure. I am at a time of both. We are sure of where we are (Delaware, while a tough move and separation from our loved ones) is definitely the right place right now. I am home more, have the ability to more creative with music and ministry, working with some great folks at church, and pulling some irons out of the fire that didn’t need to be there. But some “other” things (we are ramping up Higher Place Ministries with our newly available resources, but unsure what it will look like) are not quite so clear yet.

I’ve been meditating on a couple of familiar passages over the last number of weeks,

“Whatever you do in word or in deed, do all to the glory of God”

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, but in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths”

Pastor Tom here at Eagle’s Nest Fellowship were having a discussion the other day about God’s will and I in a serious, but also in a tongue-in-cheek fashion said, “You remember the whole God’s perfect will and permissive will thing? I think God’s perfect will is for me to be His boy and His permissive will is whatever I do as long as I do it for His glory.”

Now I know it’s more complex than that in practice, but I really think that the principle is true. I also know that this idea has to be thought through a little more on my end and has to find some resolution in relation to the Ephesians passage that tells us that God has “good works prepared ahead of time for us to do”. So have the “whatevers” been prepared “ahead of time”? I’m not all knowing enough to presume a firm answer on that, but I do know that we put a whole lot of pressure on ourselves and others to find out detailed specifics on God’s will for our lives. We wind up missing a lot of opportunities to experience God’s will in the everyday moments because our eyes are too focused on tomorrow.

What are your thoughts?

One Comment
  1. Anonymous permalink

    This sounds an aweful lot like where I am right now. I just don’t know. Its infurating to me that I never really know where my life is heading and everytime I think I have it figured out something else happens to flip it upside down again. My directions keep changing. I know for certian that I was to move to California but I’m no longer certian this is where I’m to be now. The worse part is: God is being quiet on the subject. So now I’m kind of seeing whats going to happen next.

    I honestly believe that God is more interested in the state of our hearts than what we are actually doing.
    More interested in us “being” what He’s called us to be rather than “doing” what hes called us to do. If we are the former I am fully convinced we will do tha later. In that frame of mind I don’t find that is has to be so complicated.

    Do I believe that God has a plan for me? Absolutley.
    But I also believe that he’d prefer that I love Jesus more than he’d like for some task to be accomplished.

    I wouldn’t say that I ride the fence in the predestination/freewill arguements, I just don’t think they’re mutually exclusive.

Leave a Reply

