Skip to content

the Blood and the Cross

November 11, 2007

When I woke up this morning and all was still quiet (the kids were slow going today), I grabbed my favorite devotional (My Upmost for His Highest) and “The Normal Christian Life” by Watchman Nee. I sat down in the corner of our bedroom to spend some time with God searching for some direction, peace, and revelation. It was great to just sit, read, and listen. As a side note, I would encourage all of you to set aside time, get quiet, read, and listen. You will grow so much!

The beginning of Nee’s book has to do with the Blood of Christ and our identifying with the cross. The blood of Christ was poured out to satisfy God’s wrath. We so often feel like we are forgiven by God when we feel it. As if there is some exchange that will radically alter our happiness or circumstances when it happens. The truth is that we are forgiven whether we feel it or not when we believe by faith in the work that was done that satisfied the payment for sin. Christ blood covers our sin, but our identifying with Christ in his death (“I am crucified with Christ . . .”) is what deals with our root sin problem. When I am forgiven I am clean from the sins I have committed, but I will probably sin again. When I am dead to sin in that area (again, crucified with Christ, then I am delivered. Nee says that the the shed blood of Christ allows me to be forgiven, being crucified with him allows me to be delivered.

I just thought that was some cool insight and would pass it along. Read the book!

Blessings
Scott

From → Faith

2 Comments
  1. joell permalink

    Yes, cool insight. Love you bro! 🙂

  2. Megs permalink

    You know this so true about the feeling part. The insight part WOW!!!
    Love Y’all Hope all is well.
    Megs

Leave a Reply

