Skip to content

Searching for God Knows What . . . a look back and ahead

December 31, 2007

Looking at 2007 there have been easy times and hard times.  Normally this is the reason we make Resolutions.  We desire an better us, life, circumstances, waist line.

What are some resolutions you guys have made?

We believe that there is and we are constantly looking for the better life.

“If I do this, this, and then this, then God will answer my prayer and things will work out great!”

  Life is complex and it’s answers are not just a few simple steps – not easy answers – but in God’s guidance, existence, mercy, and love

“Because we live in a constant sales environment where we are told a certain car will make us sexy or a certain dishwashing detergent will be a miracle for our dishes, we assume the gospel of Jesus works the same way, that is, if we invest something, we get something more back. But this is not the case. To understand what the Bible explains Jesus’ gospel to be, we must look to each other, to the way a father interacts with a child, a bride to a bridegroom, a doctor to a patient. When we let go of the idea of Jesus as a product and embrace Him as a being, our path to spiritual maturity begins.” ~ Donald Miller

“…Living Christ is not a twelve step recovery program for the real world …

…life is an invitation to follow Jesus into the corner of the world each of us has been given  and to simply love the people we find there…” ~ Bebo Norman

To the Church in Laodicea Rev. 3:14-22

 14“To the angel of the church in Laodicea write:
      These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation.
15I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. 17You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. 18I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see. 19Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest, and repent. 20Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me. 21To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne. 22He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

What are we doing to reach and love people in effective ways.  Not just participate in things that make us feel like we are having church.

This coming year, we want to REALLY love God and REALLY love people.  This means more than just fulfilling all of the “steps” we think that we are required to.  It’s about really living life, good days and bad, in a way that reflects God’s nature.

Let’s make that resolution this year.

2008 Ethos:

          We want to continue to grow in ways to fulfill this resolution

o   To love God and people

o   To not just go through church rituals, but to really live the life – to accept Jesus invitation

          We are going to grow our pastoral care beyond Sunday Nights – WE ARE A COMMUNITY

          We are going to address some of our areas of need – Child care, Follow-up, and Intentionality

We are going to seek for new and greater ways to involve more of you in the process of ethos, it’s vision, and direction

FOR FURTHER STUDY:

Read Revalation Chapter 3 and think about how we are like the church at Laodicea.  How do we need to be more dependent on God when things are difficult.  How do we need to be even more dependent on God when things are great?

Read Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller ~ www.donaldmiller.com

From → Messages

3 Comments
  1. This search you call for GOD, is it not so far off as we have been taught. In fact, I would venture to say that GOD created all things and all things are GOD, so if we be created by GOD and all things being GOD, the search is over. What do you think?

  2. higherplace permalink

    Thanks for the comment! The thing I love about blogs is the people you meet and the really good food for thought you get.

    I definitely agree that God is not far away and that the search for Him is looking for something that has always been right with us. It is truly human to be so overwhelmed or distracted with life in general that we miss the most important things that can be so close. I do disagree that all things are God, however. The idea creates difficulty with what is evil and what is good or what is right and what is wrong. Each person left to decide for themselves, lends us the issue of what one person thinks is right conflicts with what another thinks is wrong. If one thinks hurting people is right, that creates a great problem for the people being hurt. There has to be a standard that exists outside my own opinion. That’s where I believe God comes in. I believe that God not only exists before and also created man, I also believe that He is the standard by which the measurement of life, morality, and purpose can be made. What is really amazing to me about this is it means we are not left to fend for ourselves in a directionless existence with no purpose, but that there is a design with all people’s best interest in mind.

    Again, welcome and I would appreciate your continued thoughts and discussion!

  3. Scott permalink

    Are all things truly God? If so, what does that make God? Seems to me that God would then be self-contradicting- where God both loves and hates all things. Doesn’t make sense to me.

Leave a Reply

