Skip to content

So What’s Really Important?

April 1, 2008

I’m sitting in the waiting room at the Hospital in Chapel Hill, NC as I write.  I’m waiting for my former student, youth group member, student leader, adult leader/Intern, and very close friend (Michael McAtee) to get out of surgery.  It always is tough when someone you love dearly has to have some procedure done, but I must say that Mike having brain surgery is particularly sobering.  The call came like a ton of bricks, but the peace of God has fallen upon us with much more weight.  So as I wait, I have been reflecting on the words of Christ.  “All of the law and the prophets are summed up in this: Love the Lord your God with all of your heart, soul, mind, and strength and . . . love your neighbor as yourself.” ~ Love God and Love People!Everything in my world right now revolves around being “there” for my friend.  You know, at the end your days, it’s not going to be about the things you’ve built, the church you attended, how successful your were in your giftings.  It’s going to be about God and it’s going to be about people. Period.  Did you love God?  Did you love people?  Where you there when you needed to be?  Where other things too important to give way to God and people?Roll this thing into righteousness – Be rightly related to God so you can be rightly related to yourself, so you can be rightly related to those around you.  Love God and Love People.  I’m waiting on God and today . . . I’m in the waiting room for my friend.  It’s what’s important.

From → Faith, Hobbses

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for the great word. I have been thinking and praying for Mike last night and most of today. I am really trying to work on this “pray without ceasing” thing. Thanks for all you do.

  2. You are so right, bro. I’ve been thinking about and continuing in prayer for our friend McAtee. Pray that all is well with him.
    Scott, you are a sweet example of how to love God and love people. I love you!

Leave a Reply

