Skip to content

4-6-08 Study Notes – Letters from Prison

April 7, 2008

Galatians – The Key to Freedom

Ever have things that take place that you just can’t explain?  Maybe things that challenge what you believe.  Things you just plain don’t understand.

We will do a series on suffering and its role more in depth at a later point

BUT – All of us at various times in our lives have things take place or find ourselves in situations that give us perspective.  That help us hear something new, something we need to learn

We’re going to spend the next few weeks covering the letters that Paul wrote from prison

Paul spent a lot of time locked-up and persecuted for his faith – the letters over the next 3 weeks come from that place.

But I before we start with Ephesians next week (written during His imprisonment)– Let’s talk about Galatians (which gives us the key to freedom) – Because Paul understood freedom in prison

· Written about 48 or 49 AD to a Church that he started (probably in Asia Minor)

· They were beginning to struggle in His absence with some new teachers that were trying to draw them back in to the “law” You can earn God’s favor by good works– Judaism; instead of the fact that they now lived under “grace” – God has paid the price we just believe and are made free.

· Galatians is the Gospel of Freedom! Not by our work but by God’s work in us.

1 – Saved by grace – we were crucified with Christ

Beginning of book Paul gives his story which gives him the authority to speak – He is an authority on the subject ~ 1:11 “I didn’t make it up – It was given to me by Jesus!”

Paul explains in Vs. 16-21 – the “law” showed that no one could do it, it can’t be done on our own – Christ has to do it.  He is perfect.  When we believe – we are saying that we know that you died for my mess – I couldn’t do it, so now you live in my life and I live for you.

2- – We’re God’s kids

2:26 – by believing we are his children with full privileges

o Like my  kids

§ Have access to me

§ Have place in my heart

§ Have inheritance by bearing my name

3 – We are Free! Which is Following Him

5:1 – “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”

So what‘s the point?

o Keep in mind the Galatians here

§ Know Christ now, but sliding into trying to earn God’s approval instead of working for God because you are loved by Him

§ It’s not an obligation – it’s a freeing privilege

o Not free to do whatever we want (see5:13 – “You my brothers were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge in the sinful nature.”)

o But free to live by the Spirit – Follow Him, His leading

§ We’ll know it

· 5:22,23 “ love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control”

From → Messages

One Comment
  1. Gail Hargreaves permalink

    how awesome I think it is that I a small town girl have unrestricted access to the King of Kings. I dont have to leave a message or wait till he gets home and he can even reach me on my worst day of the week. I can live and follow him and his leading….I think I will cling to that better then being the daugther of the top of the forutne 500…my inheritance will last for all eternity!!!!

Leave a Reply

