Skip to content

3 foot grass

April 27, 2008

So, yeah, the grass in my back yard was about 3 feet high.  The baby is due any time, so I figured if I didn’t cut it today, the baby would come and it would be a week before I got to it.  It would then be tall it would consume my home and possibly the neighborhood.  It was out of control!  It took me about 3 and half hours to tackle it.  Not that I’m a very proficient yard mantinence guy or anything.

Point:

I’ve known for a good bit that I needed to take care of it.  I had become self conscious and worried about how it affected our appearance to the neighbors around us.  I was worried about how it would reflect upon us and that we really aren’t that messy.  The longer I waited the more awful of a job it looked like and I didn’t want to deal with it.  Does this sound like anything to you?  When we have things that begin to creep up in our lives – anger, unforgiveness, fear, brokenness – don’t put it off.  Don’t allow it to grow until it misrepresents the Jesus in you.  It will only be more difficult the longer you wait.  Go ahead – deal with it – cut the 3 foot grass.

From → Faith

3 Comments
  1. Don’t you just love how those every day things smack you in the face like that and teach you?

    At least you don’t have the neighborhood nazis sending you nasty-grams about your 3 feet tall grass…

  2. Justin permalink

    Dude,

    Atleast you’re not beating your dog out there in the three foot grass.

    J

  3. Stephen permalink

    Man, i needed to hear that!! Just like a small splitter that you just cannot get out of your finger and in becomes infected and you just want it out so the pain will stop and the healing will begin!

Leave a Reply

