Skip to content

Let Jesus Make Your Way

May 5, 2008

March of the Unqualified

Series Overview

Tonight – But I’m not good enough “God Will Make a Way”

Next Week – But what will my friends/family think “Don’t Be Crabby”

Third Week – But I don’t have enough time/money

Final Week – But Why ??

Our case study for “I’m not good enough” is Moses. God appears to Moses in the burning bush: Exodus 3:9-11

FIRST EXCUSE

But who am I that you would ask me? We believe that we are insufficient for the task

God’s response in Exodus 3:12 “I will be with you”

He will make us sufficient.

Jesus made the same promise to us in the last verse of Matthew

Mt 28:20 “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age”

Paul encourages us to be confident in God’s power

2 Cor 3:5-6 “Such confidence as this is ours through Christ before God. Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant”

and again in Philippians 4:13 “I can do ALL things in Christ who strengthens me”

God is sufficient and he will make us sufficient when he asks us to do something.

Exodus 3:13

SECOND EXCUSE

But what do I say? But I don’t have the right knowledge for this.

God responds by giving Moses the words to say. Exodus 3:14-17

This is not an isolated incident: God gave Jeremiah the words to say in chapter 1:6-9

and Paul gives credit to God for the words he preached in 1 Corinthians 2:1-5

God gave us The Word also

He told us exactly what to say

Mark 16:15 “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.”

1 Corinthians 15:1-4 “Friends, let me go over the Message with you one final time— this Message that I proclaimed and that you made your own; this Message on which you took your stand and by which your life has been saved. The first thing I did was place before you what was placed so emphatically before me: that the Messiah died for our sins, exactly as Scripture tells it; that he was buried; that he was raised from death on the third day, again exactly as Scripture says”

Exodus 4:1

THIRD EXCUSE

But what if they don’t believe me? But what if I fail? Fear of failure

God gave Moses signs and miracles

God gave us The Word and that is sufficient by itself

Romans 10:17 Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ.

We are afraid to fail mostly because we have failed at something in the past, but if God asks us to do something we need not have that fear. When it’s God’s plan, God will make us sufficient for the task. He gave Moses signs and miracles and He still does today.

John 20:30-31 Jesus did many other miraculous signs in the presence of His disciples, which are not recorded in this book. But these are written that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name.

Proverbs 16:3 Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.

Exodus 4:10

FOURTH EXCUSE

But I don’t speak well. I don’t have the right abilities for this task.

God already knows the limits of your abilities. He created us, all the good stuff and the not so good. He already know what we are supposedly not capable of. God will make a way to overcome your lack of ability. In fact, he frequently chooses those that are obviously incapable of the task, so that it will be all that much more amazing when we succeed. Then God’s power will be obvious in us.

Exodus 4:11-12

Back to Paul in 1 Cor. 2

Exodus 4:13

FIFTH EXCUSE

But I don’t want to do this. But can’t you get someone else?

God’s response is anger

Jonah

This one we have to fix. Our response needs to be repentance.

With Moses we know the rest of the story: He goes to Egypt, tells Pharaoh to “Let my people go” and with God’s help, leads his people out of bondage.

So what’s going to be the rest of our story. Those around us are living their lives enslaved by sin, in bound to their addictions and things of this world. God’s calling us to lead our people out of bondage. How will we respond. We need to answer His call. We need to take our weaknesses, our inabilities, our fears to Him in prayer and ask for His help. God will make a way.

We are completely insufficient in ourselves to have relationship with God. But God made a way for us. In fact, He made The Way.

I am the way, the truth, and the life. John 14:6

So as Lenny Kravitz says

Take up your cross and let Jesus make your way.

From → Messages

2 Comments
  1. omegachip permalink

    I also want to thank Jeffery Peck for doing such an awesome job with my special request for music. I threw the Lenny Kravitz song on him with just three weeks notice and it sounded awesome. Thanks to everyone in the band for making it happen. For those that are interested, that song is “If you want it” from his new album. Very cool lyrics if you get a chance to go read them.

    Thanks to everybody that was there last night. I really appreciate the positive feedback. I hope to see you this Sunday for “Don’t Be Crabby!”

  2. ipictureyouandme permalink

    It was pretty fun singing that Lenny Kravitz song last week. definately a good example of God kicking my “but”. hopefully everyone enjoyed it as much as I did in the end!

Leave a Reply

