Skip to content

Why ?

May 29, 2008

In the past three weeks, we dealt with how to kick our own internal ‘buts’, the ‘buts’ that other people put on us, and the lack of resources ‘buts’. This week is all about why it is so important to follow God’s will. We need to stop making excuses, stop stalling, delaying, and procrastinating. Our obedience is the only suitable answer to God’s calling. We don’t know how our actions / inactions are needed for God’s ultimate plan. My personal story of how someone’s immediate obedience to God’s will affected the rest of my life is a perfect example. If you missed the message on Sunday, I would be happy to share my story with you face-to-face anytime.

The only other notes I had for this message were some scripture related to God’s will:

John 6

38 For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me.

39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all that he has given me, but raise them up at the last day.

40 For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.

Ephesians 1:9-10 And he made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, to be put into effect when the times will have reached their fulfillment – to bring all things in heaven and on earth together under one head, even Christ.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

1 Peter 2:15-16 For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish men. Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as coverup for evil; live as servants of God.

1 Peter 4:19 So then, those who suffer according to God’s will should commit themselves to their faithful Creator and continue to do good.

Isaiah 55:8-9 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

From → Messages

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

