Skip to content

Brace Yourself

June 12, 2008

As of late, I have been reminded over and over again of the phrase “Brace Yourself”.  In the video of the song “How He Loves”, Kim Walker declares this over the people assembled at that conference because experiencing the love of God will never leave you the same.  We have definitely been operating with some spiritual momentum in the last number of months, but I believe that it is just the wind before the storm.  I believe we need to brace ourselves for a much deeper, stronger, and more powerful move of God.  However, I believe that we have a responsibility.  So often we sing, “Lord open up the heavens”, “Lord meet with me”, “Come Holy Spirit”.  I do believe it is appropriate to declare and ask these things, but I want you to know that God has come, He is here, the Spirit has been poured out.  The heavens are open, we need to pray that we will be open to it.  “Open up the earth” is a prayer that worship leader Jason Upton prays through out his music.  The heavens are open, the wind is blowing, so let’s open up our hearts, step out of where we’ve been, press in, broaden our expressions of worship . . . BRACE YOURSELF!

One Comment
  1. Hey, I read something about this in My Utmost For His Highest recently. O. Chambers was saying that we waste a lot of time praying for things we already have- and in doing so we miss that we are supposed to be intercessors for the people around us. I know it’s true for me. I’ve been kind of stuck on myself, just praying to be “better” instead of realizing Jesus has already made me better! It’s time to move the focus off of ourselves and onto the people for which God has called us to intercede…

    That’s just where I’m at today

Leave a Reply

