Skip to content

Reflecting Foward

December 30, 2008

Over this Christmas break (I’ve been on the road visiting family and friends), I’ve been taking some time to try and look back over this last year, the current events going on around me, and peer into 2009.  It’s always a good time each year because I’m tired and spent.  That’s good because I find I’m more pliable, more apt to hear God, and normally ready to move forward.  It is so easy to latch on to a routine and a method of ministry and lifestyle.

So as I look back over 2008 I am excited about the changes I need to make and the ones the Lord is doing in me for 2009.  Since we as people always seem to complicate things and put more on our plates than we can eat, I feel this desperate call back to simple things.  Simple faith, simple service, simple worship.  It is so easy to mount up for a quest to find the all in one method of minsitry.  You know, do this, do that, read this, organize that.  All of which has to be done from time to time.  But the things that God desires most from us has not changed in 200o years.  Dedicate ourselves to the Apostle’s teaching, break bread together, meet together, give to each as they have need.

It’s going to be an awesome year.  God is on the move!

From → Faith

One Comment
  1. Scott, Well spoken…a return to simple faith, not ignorant, but uncluttered..that’s magnificent! It’s awesome to be on this journey with you! God continues His love letter to us on a daily basis. Simply put, ‘Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are knew every morning; great is Your faithfulness. The Lord is my portion, says my soul. Therefore I hope in Him!’ Lam. 3:22-24
    Simple faith, simple service, simple worship. Our God is an awesome God!
    Love to all,
    Doug

Leave a Reply

