Skip to content

Wisdom Part 1

February 16, 2009

Don’t Hesitate

I just had two of the three wisdom teeth I have pulled this week.  Or should I say “extracted”?  That sounds more official and painful. I had one pulled about 10 years ago for similar reasons to these.  Have I learned anything yet?

I’m going make several posts over this week related to wisdom that I learned through my recent dental experience.

I wish I could say it was an elective procedure, but it wasn’t.  I was in pain. I should have known from the last time I had this done that when the tooth gets a hole in it, get it fixed before it hurts!  But if you’re like me, you often want to wait until you have no choice to deal with an issue.  Hesitation can hurt you, BIG TIME.  When it’s time, it’s time.  I am reminded of a quote from my dad, “the only thing worse than being where you aren’t supposed to be is being there after you are supposed to be gone”

Well, it was long past time for the tooth to be gone.  So, reluctantly, I went to the dentist.  Once there I found that I didn’t have one problem, but several.  I had been delaying going to the dentist for three years because it was inconvenient, uncomfortable, and expensive.  After this appointment I had a referral in my hands to go get some wisdom teeth pulled.  I waited over a month. It was only hurting a little and I was busy. Then . . . my tooth went nuts.  Out of the blue it went from little pain to major hurt. So what was the result of my hesitation? It has been horrible more inconvenient, MUCH more uncomfortable – PAIN, and very inconvenient.

Lesson? It is wise to not hesitate whe God reveals it’s time to deal with an issue.  It might not be fun or easy, but it will be far worse if you wait. God reveals things to us along the way out of amazing grace for us to deal with.  But not dealing with things when God reveals them can lead to painful consequences.

From → Faith

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

