Skip to content

Scheduling – The Fullness of Time

July 6, 2009

I am an artsy, music, spontaneous guy.  If you know a creative type, then you know that person has a hard time with schedules.  Sometimes the creative idea hits you at 1 am.  Sometimes the idea comes right in the middle of doing something else.  However, there is a problem.  When I don’t begin to apply some structure to my life (even though I hate schedules) my time gets consumed and creativity gets squashed.

People will tell you sometimes, “you got to allow room for the Spirit to move . . .” or “don’t plan God right out of the service . . .”  The problem is that if you take those ideas to the extreme, no structure will mean there is human chaos.  Without the string grounding the kite it cannot fly.

God shows us, in an amazingly deep statement in Galatians 4:4, that He operates by a divine schedule.  The scripture tells us that “when the fullness of time had come”  Jesus came.  There was an appointed moment when God decidied it was time.  God also is the supreme creative being in the universe.  The Bible teaches us that things have their appointed seasons.  It is this rythm of life that actually nurtures creativity and the move of the Spirit.

I am working hard on looking at my life and letting my yes be yes and my no be no.  I am working even harder on blocking time out each day for quiet, family, study, and SLEEP.  With out these things that give us a natural rythm to our lives we become spiritually dry and uninspired.

Schedules aren’t evil, they just need to be prayerfully made and submitted to the direction of God.

From → Faith

One Comment
  1. Amen! & Amen! Proverbs 16:9, ‘A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.’ Good words, my brother. I’m not the creative type and am easily inclined to commend the schedule as irrevocable. Yet, thanks be to God that He cares for me (us) and pursues me in spite of my schedule! He has shown you, o man what he requires of you….love mercy, do justly, walk humbly with your God. More and more I lean not on my own understanding…and trust the Lord in all my ways.
    Love to you. See you soon!!! Doug

Leave a Reply

