Skip to content

The Proverbial Journey 2

March 2, 2010

Proverbs Chapter 2

Today I want to focus on Vs. 1-5 of Chapter 2.  These verses describe what I like to call “the need to passionately pursue”.  It’s not a quest to be smart or an education to land a better job.  It’s a pursuit that begins in relationship and each discovery about the Giver of Life and the life He gives drives us to know more. Follow me as I dig through verses 1-5.

Vs. 1 – “My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you,”

  • Accept and Store Up – Meaning that we must study the scriptures and accept them as truth.  We can’t just survive on Sunday to Sunday tid bits that we may or may not remember by Wednesday.  We’ve got to learn the words contained in the Bible and hide them in our hearts.  That probably means for most of us that we’ve got to read it, study it, and allow it to study us on a regular basis.

Vs. 2 – “turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding,”

  • Turning your ear means to not just hear it, but to listen and learn.
  • Applying your heart to understanding – This is putting your passion and desire to learning God’s wisdom, not just going through the motions hoping that you get it

Vs. 3, 4 – and if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure,

  • Are you on the hunt for God?  Not just making the routine, usual stops on Sunday and Wednesdays?  Are you getting up early and listening? Are you sitting down with someone wise in the Faith and “calling out and crying aloud”?
  • These verses really unveil the passion for the knowledge of God.  We shouldn’t be sitting idly by thinking that our relationship with God takes care of itself, but we should be in hot pursuit for growth in Christ where ever we can find it.
  • Meet this week with someone who has walked with Christ longer than you and ask them to tell you their story.  Ask them about things you don’t understand.
  • Read books by wise people in the Faith like, A.W. Tozer, C.S. Lewis, Charles Spurgen, Watchman Knee
  • Journal your thoughts and prayers

Vs. 5 – “then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.”

  • God wants to be pursued.  He’s been pursuing you.
  • Jeremiah 29:13You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

This Christianity thing isn’t an exercise of 1+1=2.  It isn’t an equation that if followed properly gets you the prize.  It’s a relationship that is designed to be full of wonder and passion.  If you are a follower of Christ, you have been radically forgiven and delivered into a relationship that beyond comprehension.

Are you storing up God’s commands? Are you listening, I mean really listening and applying those commands?  Are you crying aloud and calling out to know Him more?  Are you seeking Him desperately?  He promises that if we seek Him we will find Him.

What are your thoughts?

From → Proverbs

3 Comments
  1. Helen permalink

    Thank you, Pastor Scott, for stirring up a hunger in my heart to know God more! During tax season, I can easily get waylayed, and skirt around my time with God, but already your study of Proverbs and your insights have ignited a fire in my belly to be serious about my pursuit of God. I don’t want my “christian life” to be a pursuit of knowledge which will puff me up, I want it to be a pursuit of knowing Christ more. I am so excited each morning to get up and see what you have posted. Thank you again!

  2. It struck me how God promises that if we do seek wisdom; if we treasure it, make room for it; if we look for Him, then we will find Him. We will gain wisdom. We will know His ways.

    This promise that He will make himself know to us if we earnestly seek Him is the cure to becoming discouraged when we feel like He is too far out of reach or like we will never understand the ways of wisdom.

  3. The whole listening and applying bit is huge for me. How often do we find ourselves hearing the word of God in church, from a friend, in a song, or by revelation and we say we’re “blessed” but make no forward movement to really apply that word. I think we should change many of our “amens” in church to “I’m going to start doing that.”

    Thanks for the comments! I’m glad you all are journeying with me.

Leave a Reply

