Skip to content

The Proverbial Journey 5

March 5, 2010

Proverbs Chapter 5

This chapter is a warning against adultery. This is actually something we are all guilty of.  Maybe you’re thinking, “No Way!”, but alas it’s true.  We cheat on God all the time.  We give His time to other things.  We delight ourselves in things that become idols for us and replace our delight in God.

Adultery starts in the heart.  A longing for something else to satisfy.  If we don’t have the truth settled in our hearts and minds, then when temptation comes we will falter.  So we must listen to the truth and settle it so that we can stand in the moment of temptation as we’re told here in verses 1 and 2:

“1 My son, pay attention to my wisdom,
listen well to my words of insight,

2 that you may maintain discretion
and your lips may preserve knowledge.”

Vs. 18 – “May your fountain be blessed, and may you rejoice in the wife of your youth.”

I love vs. 18 for a lot of reasons, but this promise is a powerful one for those who start and stay faithful.  This is true of our earthly spouse and it’s true for us as the bride of Christ.  Start and stay faithful.  This results is in full life (fountain being a representation of life and blessing) and in a relationship that is worthy of celebration.

Vs. 21 – “For a man’s ways are in full view of the LORD, and he examines all his paths.”

The Lord knows it all – hidden and seen, influences, choices, past, present, and future.  We cannot hide.  This is a blessing, because He loves us anyway.

What about you guys today? What do you think?  What are some of your idols you deal with?

From → Proverbs

2 Comments
  1. Helen permalink

    How true these verses are spiritually as well! I never put much thought to the fact that I have cheated on my heavenly father! I have been enticed away from God so many times by the seductress of this world. Shopping is a big temptation for me. I’m finding that “things” have no real or lasting joy to build into my life. But if I’m devoted to my heavenly Father first, then I will have a lot to celebrate. He is my wellspring of life. I have seen in my own life how much more satisfied I am when God is my focus then when I have focused on things and the pursuit of things. Forgive me Father, for I have sinned! I’m so glad He loves me no matter what!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Proverbial Journey 7 « Higher Place Ministries

Leave a Reply

