Skip to content

The Proverbial Journey 12

March 12, 2010

Proverbs Chapter12

I have been through the book of Proverbs a number of times before, but this journey has come at a prudent time in my life.  Each chapter that I journal through deals with something I am going through or getting ready to deal with.  I just love God’s word!

Vs. 1  “Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but he who hates correction is stupid.”

I had the opportunity in the last couple of days to love discipline and receive correction.  It wasn’t fun.  But man did I need it.  I love that even though we live in a politically correct society and we’re not supposed to offend anyone these days, the Bible makes no bones about cutting to the core of the matter.  How often, according to this verse, are we stupid?  We all love knowledge, we want to know, we want the inside information.  However, this verse tells us if we are true lovers of knowledge, then we will love discipline/correction.  I reacted to a situation before I had prayed and considered where I was.  My flesh won out and I was wrong in my response.  I had to receive the correction I could feel brewing in my spirit and repent!  Next time I will know better, because I received and responded to the correction of the Lord.

This Chapter focuses on comparing the wise (lovers of discipline) and the foolish (lovers of self).  As followers of Christ, sinners saved by grace) we find ourselves on both sides from time to time.  Let’s focus on a couple of verses:

Vs. 9-11

9 Better to be a nobody and yet have a servant 
than pretend to be somebody and have no food.

10 A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal, 
but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel.

11 He who works his land will have abundant food, 
but he who chases fantasies lacks judgment.

“Better to be a nobody”, man that just sounds downright un-American, doesn’t it?  Look in your closet today, or under your bed, or in your attic.  How much to we have and yet continue to lust for more?  I think on some level we will all have to admit that we struggle with trying to “keep up with the Joneses?”.  But often in our pursuit of things and status we neglect the things that really give us life.  Bible study, the fellowship of the believers, worship, kindness, hard work, service to others, and so forth.   If we will work and serve we will be provided what we need, but if we “chase fantasies” we will like judgement and reap what we sow.

Vs. 15 “The way of a fool seems right to him, but a wise man listens to advice.”

This verse makes such an important admonition to us.  If we are going to react correctly in difficult moments, live within our means, and not chase fantasies, then we have got to seek advice.  Often we will get ideas in our heads or have an emotional reaction and trot right off to action.  When we really need to step back, pray, and seek some advice from other believers that are safe and wise people.  Another set of eyes will normally help us see more clearly.

Vs. 28 “In the way of righteousness there is life; along that path is immortality.”

True life comes from living in the right relationship with Christ, which allows us to be right within ourselves, and thus live rightly with those around us.

What do you guys think today?  Have you blown it lately?  Are you loving correction?

From → Proverbs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

