Skip to content

The Proverbial Journey 15

March 15, 2010

Proverbs Chapter 15

I remember a time when I was struggling deeply with where I was headed and how I was doing.  I was feeling pretty low.  I cried out to God about how I felt and deeply desired to know that I was headed in the right direction.  I wanted to hear from God.

Very shortly after that day, I was ministering at a meeting and someone asked to speak to me afterwards.  They began to share how God had used Lisa and I to impact their lives.  Man did I need it.  We all need encouragement and we all need to hear from God.  Here’s the trick.  If we are locked into a pre-conceived idea of how God will speak to us or what it is that will encourage us, we may very well miss it when it comes.

I want to encourage you guys today to allow God to use you to be the voice of encouragement.  Look at these passages from Chapter 15:1,2,4

1 A gentle answer turns away wrath,
but a harsh word stirs up anger.

2 The tongue of the wise commends knowledge,
but the mouth of the fool gushes folly.

4 The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life,
but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.

What we say to others may be the final thing that makes the difference for them.  The power of life and death is in the tongue as James tells us.  Encourage somebody unto life today.  It is something we need to actively choose to do until it becomes a “God habit” in our lives.

30 A cheerful look brings joy to the heart,
and good news gives health to the bones.

Be a deliverer of encouragement today.  Let’s put off the complaining and fault finding.  We might need to love someone enough to walk through correction with them (See Proverbs Chapter 12), but we need to encourage them forward in the Kingdom!

Are you an encourager?  What are some other insights you guys have from this Chapter?

From → Proverbs

2 Comments
  1. I need to stop being that hot-tempered guy in verse 18.

    • I’m with ya Tim! I’m that guy too sometimes. But hey, we are all a work in progress and the Bible says that God’s faithful to complete that good work! I love ya man more than I know how to tell ya! I’m glad to be on this journey with you!

Leave a Reply

