Skip to content

The Proverbial Journey 20

March 20, 2010

Proverbs Chapter 20

What kind of Christian am I?  Am I plastic? Am I a wolf in sheep’s clothing? Am I Christ-like?  We are in this glorious process of becoming.  When we are rescued by God’s grace we begin this journey to glory that is refining and perfecting us.  So, at times I know that I do not reflect the God I serve in my actions.

I say from time to time that anything about you that is not like Jesus is not who you are.  We were purchased with a price, we are new creations, the old has gone and the new has come.  There is nothing we can do to earn God’s salvation, but once we have received that free gift by grace through faith works are a huge issue.

Proverbs 20:6 Many a man claims to have unfailing love,
but a faithful man who can find?

Many people “claim” to be “good” or loving, but don’t remain faithful to what they claim.  Many people say they love Jesus and follow him but aren’t faithful to Him. This is all of our stories to one degree or another.  The Bible plainly says, “there are none righteous, no not one”.  However, there is an expectation that if we claim to be followers of Christ, people saved by grace, then God has an expectation that our actions will follow our beliefs.

James 2:15-18

15Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. 16If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? 17In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

18But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”
Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do.

We are to be “doers of the word, not just hearers only”.  Being faithful, being in right standing with God has benefits.  It impacts our children and those around us. It’s how people are going to see Jesus.  By our actions.

Proverbs 20:7 The righteous man leads a blameless life;
blessed are his children after him.

We’re not going to get it right all the time, but as we press on we are being conformed more and more into the image of Jesus.  Be faithful, pursue Jesus, live it out!

Your thoughts?

From → Proverbs

3 Comments
  1. “Hey, tell me haven’t ya heard?
    Luv, is a serious word
    Hey, I think it’s time ya learned
    I don’t care what they say
    I don’t care care what ya heard
    The word luv, luv is a verb”

  2. Lol Tim! Good memories! “Heaven bound, heaven bound, huh, huh, heaven bound”

  3. thought you would like that one.!

Leave a Reply

