Skip to content

The Proverbial Journey 24

March 24, 2010

Proverbs Chapter 24

I want to focus on one thought today that has been paramount in my journey with Christ.

6 for waging war you need guidance,
and for victory many advisers.

The moment you say yes to Jesus, you embark on the most amazing adventure that lasts for all eternity.  However, in that same moment, you enter into a war between the flesh and the spirit, between darkness and light.

You cannot do it alone.  You were never meant to.  Adam had perfect fellowship in the garden of Eden with God.  Face to face they would spend time together and yet God said, “it is not good for man to be alone” and He made Eve to “complete” Adam.  The word that is often translated there as “helpmate” actually translate as “one who completes”.  We also see in the New Testament that we are “one body with many members”.  I am reminded of a song from the nineties by Jon Cox that said,”How can the eye say to the hand, I don’t need your touch you don’t understand what I do. And how can the hand say to the eye, I don’t need you, I’ll get by without you.”

When Lisa and I were walking through a devastating time in our marriage after a late term miscarriage, we found ourselves surrounded by church family and loved ones who poured out life and encouragement to us.  They fixed meals, they prayed, they held us up for as long as we needed them.  I said to my dad, “I just don’t know how people make it without Jesus and church family” and he replied, “They don’t.”  Had it not been for those who in Christ helped carry us through, we would have lost the war, the fight, to depression and anger.  Over 70% of marriages that lose children through miscarriage or other means end in divorce.

We need encouragement, accountability, extra hands, other wise perspectives, corporate worship, others who will interceded. We need, as this passage says in proverbs, “guidance” and “many advisors”.  We need the body, this is a war for our souls.

What are some other things you guys picked up out of this Chapter?

From → Proverbs

One Comment
  1. tim permalink

    Guidance and many advisors! Amen to that! I thought for a long time that I could do things on my own. I am a man and a Marine, how could I not do it?! I have to admit that I still think that I can do it on my own sometimes but the older I get the more I realize that it is not about me and I need to rely on the Almighty God who created Heaven and earth. That reliance on Him will take many forms during the course of this Journey and one of those forms are the many advisors He will place in our path. It is exciting to see what God will do!

Leave a Reply

