Skip to content

The Proverbial Journey 30

March 30, 2010

Proverbs Chapter 30

4 Who has gone up to heaven and come down?
Who has gathered up the wind in the hollow of his hands?
Who has wrapped up the waters in his cloak?
Who has established all the ends of the earth?
What is his name, and the name of his son?
Tell me if you know!

Deep in the heart of every human being is wonder.  We look out at the universe and ponder mystical things.  At some point we move beyond simple descriptions of “the sky is blue” to wondering “why is the sky blue and what is beyond it”.  Every person is driven by a craving for purpose and eventually arrive at some attempt to satisfy that hunger.  Whether it is “there is no purpose” or “there must be a creator”, they make an attempt.  At the end of verse four, we see the opportunity for the Gospel that the wonder in all men produces, “Tell me if you know!”

5 “Every word of God is flawless;
he is a shield to those who take refuge in him.

6 Do not add to his words,
or he will rebuke you and prove you a liar.

The answer to verse 4 is, “Every word of God is flawless;”.  If you have believed the Word of God, then you have the answer.  His name is Jesus!  There is also a powerful admonition in verses 5 and 6. First is if we take refuge in God, the Word, then he will be our shield.  Other verses in scripture that expound this are; “Your word I have hidden in my heart that I might not sin against You.” and ” The name of the Lord is a strong tower, the righteous run into it and are saved.  2 Timothy  3:16 tells us that “all scripture is God breathed.”  It is a shield.  It will prevent us from sin, it leads us to salvation, it guards our hearts.

This leads me to the important point in verse 6.  We have a tendency in Christianity at times to want to expound upon God’s word and make it say things it does not.  We must be careful to not take our preferences and try find scriptures to prove our thoughts.  We must start with scripture and let it reveal God’s heart.    Unfortunately, we can see many ministries, some of them prominent, that have taken a few scriptures and manipulated people for their own gain.  So God’s word must be the final word.

I look at my own life, the state of some of the church, and our country and feel like we all need to lay hold of the following prayer in verses 7-9 because are seeing some of the results listed in verse 9:

7 “Two things I ask of you, O LORD;
do not refuse me before I die:

8 Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
give me neither poverty nor riches,
but give me only my daily bread.

9 Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
and say, ‘Who is the LORD ?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
and so dishonor the name of my God.

Be sure and spend some time in this chapter today.  There are many powerful nuggets of wisdom here.  Write me back here and list some of the other things in this chapter that spoke to you.


From → Proverbs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

