Skip to content

Because . . .

May 22, 2010

Just a simple statement about the practices of the Christian faith.  There have been church splits, verbal arguments, burnings at the stake, committees, and more over the ins and outs of Christian practice.  I think we need to put it back into perspective sometimes.  Remember that “man looks at the outward appearance and God looks at the heart.”  Our salvation is given “by grace through faith” as we “confess with our mouths that Jesus is Lord and believe in our hearts that God raised Him from the dead.”  So our faith is born out of our hearts and our works flow out of our faith.  So basically the things we practice as believers flow out of our belief in God.  I believe God desperately loves me.  I believe He has adopted me as His own and I am seated in Heavenly places and a joint heir with Christ Jesus.  I believe that while I was still a rotten, stinking, awful sinner He died for me.  And I believe that this is love that Jesus showed us his great love because He laid down His life for us.  So . . .

Because Jesus first loved us:

  • Surrender our lives because He is the only way
  • read the Bible
  • do what it says
  • love God with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength
  • love our neighbors as ourselves
  • preach Christ crucified
  • repent when we get it wrong

We are working out our salvation with fear and trembling.  So I’m not saying there aren’t things we need to sort through as the church.  I just want us to stop arguing over things that can coexist (like worship styles, preaching styles, size of churches, and so forth) and deal with things that can’t (like clear issues of sin, laziness to do kingdom work, selfishness, idols, and lack of broken hearts for what breaks God’s).

From → Faith

2 Comments
  1. tim permalink

    preach it man! you are on fire! c ya.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Do you love God? « Tim York

Leave a Reply

