Skip to content

I Love You Dad

June 20, 2010

The Father's Heart

Last month my dad was asked to participate in a father and son sharing time at A Place for the Heart’s annual men’s retreat.  My brother and I were unable to attend so they asked if we would each write a letter sharing what was the most important thing we learned from our dad to be read that evening.  The following is what gushed out of my heart and I thought I’d share for Father’s Day.

The Most Important Thing I’ve Learned From My Dad

The idea of picking the one most important thing that my father has poured in to my life is a seemingly impossible task.  My dad has not only been a tremendous parent, he has been my spiritual father.  He has taught me what it means to be a godly son, father, parent, and friend.   I have never met anyone who modeled the generous heart of grace more than him.  His heart truly breaks for the things that break the heart of God.  He is a relentless servant who desperately loves hurting people and his passion for Jesus leads him to be unapologetically loud about it in public places.

A couple of years ago, I had the privilege of tag team preaching with dad at a conference in Boston.  When it was my turn to share, I said, “there are a vast amount of people who live their entire lives trying to get out from underneath their father’s shadow, it’s my honor to walk in mine.”  I have often said I would love to be just half the man of God that he is.

The most important thing that dad has taught me is how to be my Father’s son.  I’ve never met anyone who had a deeper understanding of the Heavenly Father’s heart more than him.  He has taught me that my identity is rooted in being God’s son.  He has taught me that I’m going to make it because I’m God’s son.  He has taught me that I am loved as God’s son.  He has taught me that I have purpose because I am God’s son.  1 John 3:1 says, as I have heard dad share on many times, “What great love the Father has lavished on us that we would be called the children of God, and that is what we are”.  At the darkest times of my life, when I wasn’t sure about much of anything, it was this truth that dad has lived and taught that has carried me through.  Dad says it like this, “The deepest thing I know is this, I am my Father’s son and my Father is God.”  Dad taught me that if I fall in love with Jesus, He will introduce me to my Father and He will tell me who I am.

I pray that my children receive the same truth from me because that is the truth that Jesus gave everything for us to know.

Thank you dad, I am eternally thankful and love you more than I could ever say.

Happy Father’s day Dad, I wish they all could have one like you.  Oh yeah, they can . . . His name is Jesus.

From → Faith, Hobbses, Thoughts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

