Skip to content

The Fires of Sorrow

June 25, 2010

There have been many debates and many books written over the issue of suffering and sorrow.  In a cyclical fashion, we find ourselves answering the door over and over again to that unwelcome visitor known as difficulty.  Today’s reading from Oswald Chambers’ “My Utmost for His Highest”  is, what I believe, the best observation of the subject on the subject.

“We say that there ought to be no sorrow, but there is sorrow, and we have to receive ourselves in its fires. If we try and evade sorrow, refuse to lay our account with it, we are foolish. Sorrow is one of the biggest facts in life; it is no use saying sorrow ought not to be. Sin and sorrow and suffering are, and it is not for us to say that God has made a mistake in allowing them. ~ Oswald Chambers

Take the time to follow the link and read today’s entry: http://www.myutmost.org/06/0625.html

From → Blogs, Books, Faith

2 Comments
  1. I love how he goes on to say that the fires of sorrow make us “nourishment” for others- how until a person goes through the fires of sorrow they have no time for those who are suffering, turning them away.

    I know I have found this to be true. When I have been struggling the most, (and I don’t mean wallowing in self pity; I mean hurting, disappointed, confused, discouraged, broken) I turn to those I know have walked through these fires of suffering.

    It’s almost enough to make me WANT sorrow in my life- almost. But it does make me realize how my God brings redemption through the fires of sorrow. And it helps it be a little easier to swallow!

  2. We should not ask “Why does God allow sorrow?”. We should ask ourselves, in the midst of the sorrow, “What am I depending on to get me through this?” If the answer to that question is not the Almighty God who created Heaven and Earth we need to stop, call out to Him and give our lives completely to Him.

Leave a Reply

