Skip to content

It: Passion for God’s Presence

July 2, 2010

Here is post number one on the six characteristics of people who seem to have “it” taken from Craig Groeschel’s book “It: How Church Leaders Can Get It and Keep It”.  Most of the thoughts I’m going to share are raw out of my journal, so forgive incomplete sentences and such!

1. Passion for God’s Presence

The first thing that came to mind when I read that people who have “it” have a passion for God’s presence was the song “Create in Me a Clean Heart”

“Create in me a clean heart O’ God and renew a right spirit within me

Cast me not away from Thy presence O’ Lord

Take not Thy Holy Spirit from me

Restore unto me, the joy of Thy salvation

And renew a right Spirit withing me”

“Create in me a clean heart” – This is a creative miracle that only God can do. We must repent and He creates.

“Renew a right spirit within me” – Renewal is the result of repentance

“Cast me not away from Thy presence” – I want to be close to God.  I need it, it is life.

“Take not Thy Holy Spirit from me” – In other words, “Be with me please!”  “I desire You!”

“Restore unto me the joy of Thy salvation” – Back to what matters, back to what is eternal not temporal.  A return to the first love.

What does a passion for God’s presence look like?

  1. It is a choice of priorities.  We make time for Him, We pursue Him
  2. Prayer – We commune with Him
  3. Worship – We sing. We bow, We kneel, We, shout, We dance, We offer our bodies as living sacrifices, We serve others, We function within the Body of Believers.  We proclaim His glory with all . . . without apology and with abandon
  4. Purposeful Relationships – Family, Intimate friends, those whom we disciple (Paul, Barnabas, Timothy)
  5. Rest – Life in the Spirit is breathing in and breathing out.  We must take time to contemplate, sleep, laugh, play, etc. as well as serve, sacrifice, and work.  We receive and overflow.
  6. Read and Write – Read Scripture and write thoughts and prayers.  Read Books and journal thoughts and prayers.

We are told, “You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all of your heart”.  If we want God to direct and fill our lives, we must be passionate about His presence and pursue being with Him.

From → Books, Faith

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

