Skip to content

My Father’s House

August 7, 2010

It’s been a good week or so since I’ve posted because we are in high gear here at church with our annual camp meeting.  It’s been an amazing time and if you aren’t here . . . you should be!  Powerful messages, presence driven worship, amazing times of ministry, great fellowship, and smores!

I was just spending some time with Jesus and the following question from “My Upmost for His Highest” really struck me this morning.

Do I look at my life as being in my Father’s house?

The question arose out of Luke 2:46, 49.

“. . . they found HIm in the temple . . . And He said to them, ” . . . Do you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?'”

This reminds me of a couple of other passages – “That I may dwell in Your house all the days of my life” and “abide in Me”.

I want to be found in my Father’s house.  I don’t want to be distracted and falling into the temptation to live for anything else.  So many things grasp for our allegiance and the truth is, it is because those things want us to be about their business.  We must choose to abide in Him, to be found in our Father’s house, because when we pursue living in His presence, then we will hear and know His will more clearly. (Romans 12:1,2)

I love the certainty and urgency of Jesus’ statement.  He said, “Do you not know . . .” and “I must”.

I want to be found in His house and I want the world to know and see from my life that I am about His business.  I don’t want their to be any division in my heart . . . “I must be about my Father’s business”.

From → Books, Faith

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

