Skip to content

Alone

August 26, 2010

So Lisa takes our our children and a few of their friends on a trip for a few days here before school starts.  I hate being home by myself so I went and had dinner with two of my friends before heading home.  I found myself sitting up last night in the empty house going out of my mind.  Yeah, I had prayed, read, watched TV, tried talking with the dog, but I was completely aware of my “aloneness”.  In those moments I want to feel kind of guilty because I know God is present.  He promises to never leave, I know He dwells within me.  I know He is with me.  But I couldn’t shake the absence of my family.

One of the many things in scripture that blows my mind is where the Lord says in Genesis 2:18, “It is not good for the man to be alone . . .” and created Eve for him.  Get this, Adam walked in the cool of the morning in the Garden completely with God.  This is prior to the fall.  So Adam had perfect fellowship with God.  He could see God, walk with Him, have face to face conversation with Him.  And yet, God said it wasn’t good for man to be alone!  That blows my mind.  What was God getting at?  What is the unshakeable feeling of “aloneness” we feel, that even when we have God we still desire companionship?

I know that God’s nature never changes. So when Jesus summed up the whole deal in Luke 10:27, from before creation till eternity, it is about loving God AND loving people.  It’s about family.  God is love, so God created a family to love and be loved by.  We were created for Him and for relationships with one another in Him.  This was never meant to be a private, personal, alone faith.  It was meant from the beginning to be a public communal faith.  We were meant to be in communion with God and in community with people.  “It is not good for the man to be alone . . .”

So here’s the deal.  Love God with all of your heart, soul, mind, and strength.  Love people with the love that God has loved you with.  Press into God through Jesus Christ and get into community with people.

From → Faith, Thoughts

3 Comments
  1. tim permalink

    awesome post as always. i love your insight and so want to be like u when i grow up. caitlyn set her alarm to call me at 7 am this morning. have a great day and give me a call if you want to chat.

  2. Conrad permalink

    Very true man. Kate and I went through a study group with our church in regards to Marriage last fall and one of the things that really really stuck out to me was something that Andy Stanley said…

    We are meant to be a physical, tangible, example of God’s love to our spouse. We are supposed to love our spouse and serve our spouse in a way that they can physically feel and embrace the love of God.

    That’s deep. I enjoy my alone time every once in a while, but soon after, I am longing for the love that my wife shows me. The same goes for my friends and I feel that that idea that Andy Stanley talks about can relate to them as well. Though we have a much more intimate relationship with our spouse, much similar to what our relationship to God should and will be like, our relationships with the people around us need to be just as filled with those connections, giving us opportunities to serve our friends and truly embrace the fellowship that we have in our relationships with them, as well as giving them the same opportunities to serve us and embrace our fellowship. Matt Chandler talks a lot about how we as believers spend a lot of time complaining to God about this or that or whatever is going on, but we need to really embrace and give thanks for the times when we can just enjoy good times with good friends eating good food and drinking good wine. Those are the times that I feel that we are most honoring to the identifier, Christian.

    I think our relationships with others are so important because the love that we show one another is inviting God into our relationship and our lives. 1 John talks at length about the idea that God is love. Such a great book…

    Anyways. enjoyed the post man. Love ya bro. Sorry this was so long, we both know I can be long-winded at times! =)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Alone (via Scott and Lisa Hobbs) « Tim York

Leave a Reply

