Skip to content

Now for Something Religiously Controversial

October 9, 2010

I am not a Calvinist. I am not an Armenian.  I am not Lutheran nor Wesleyan.  I am not Baptist, Methodist (even though I grew up as one of these), Charismatic (although I have been there a lot), Pentecostal (I went to college there), or Pentecostal Free Will Baptist (yup, they exist and I worked there). I’m not even a “trans”, “inter”, or “non” denominationalist (but I have attended).  I’m not a fundamentalist or conservative. I’m not a liberal. I’m not caught up in the prophetic or mystical.  I’m not into emotionalism nor intellectualism.  I’m not a pre, mid, or post tributlationist. I’m not typological, preterist, metaphorical, or dispensational.

I do have beliefs and behaviors that line up with one or more of these “man” labeled groups.  I have attended and joined some of these churches.

But what’s most important.  What matters most of all is . . . I am a follower of Jesus Christ.

I really, really, really love Jesus and I want to love my neighbor as myself.  So much so that I desperately want to take up my cross daily and follow Jesus because He did it FIRST for me.

We can argue about a lot.  We can divide over labels and non-central doctrines.  But what does not change and should unify all of us who name the name of Jesus is . . .

“I believe in God, the Father Almighty,

the Maker of heaven and earth,
and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord:

Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, dead, and buried;

He descended into hell.

The third day He arose again from the dead;

He ascended into heaven,
and sitteth on the right hand of God the Father Almighty;
from thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit;
the holy catholic (one body of Christ) church;
the communion of saints;
the forgiveness of sins;
the resurrection of the body;
and the life everlasting.

Amen.”

I’m Just sayin . . .

From → Faith, Thoughts

3 Comments
  1. 5minutes permalink

    I’ve said for a while that the basic definition of what a Christian is can be measured by adherence to the creeds: the Apostle’s, the Nicene, Chalcedonian, and Athenasian. I’m not saying that they’re authoritative, but they contain the basics of the Trinitarian Christian faith (and no, I do not accept unitarians as part of the faith).

  2. Lucy permalink

    Very well said ~ and I Absolutely Agree! Thanks for putting things into perspective for me 🙂 When is your book coming out? You ARE writing one ~ aren’t you?? 😉 Love you Bro. ❤

  3. Doug permalink

    So Be It!!!! and Selah!

Leave a Reply

