Skip to content

Who Am I?

November 17, 2010

Since I’ve been in this transition phase over the last number of weeks, I have been forced to re-examine who I am, my limitations, my “gifts”, my desires, and what the rest of my life looks like.  I am young, by some standards (if you’re older than me), but I am middle age-ish by other standards (just outside of 40).  One thing is certain, I am well aware of my mortality and that life is fragile.  I am about to embark on a completely new journey that is going to determine some major things in my life.  Music will change for me, what I do in ministry is definitely about to change, the responsibilities are going to be different.  It’s hard when everything you’ve done that you felt so at home in becomes history and what you are about to enter into is new and different.  What am I saying?  I am asking the questions . . . Who am I? What am I really building and living for?  What is the fruit of what I’ve done?

Take a minute to read this article:

The Irony of Christian Celeberty

In Matthew 16, Jesus has feed the multitudes and then asks, “Who do they say that I am?” then says to the disciples, “Who do you say that I am?  Herein is where I find my answer to the questions.  Here lies the important thing for this short physical life.  The answer to who am I is found in how I answer His question . . . Who do I say He is?

From → Blogs, Faith

2 Comments
  1. Megan permalink

    Lisa said something to me the other day when we were talking about ministry. It’s a simple phrase I’ve heard before, but He is revealing something new about it to me that relates to the message in that article. She said “Ministry is at home.” It was a counter to the idea that ministry means saving the world.

    It’s easy to look forward to a life of ministry and assume that I will have a big, visible ministry. But maybe that is my plan and not his. Maybe that is an idol, and maybe he wants me to have a ministry that is invisible; small by the world’s standards. Maybe he wants me to lay down my big dreams for myself and let him tell me about his dreams.

    It’s a good place to be! How much better to walk invisible to the whole world but step by step with him, learning from him and growing to know him, than to live your whole life gaining fame from the world around you but come to realize you never knew Him?

  2. Leah permalink

    Blessings to you as you step onto a new road…”the fruit of what you have done”? As my gang likes to say, Dude! Really??? I am surrounded by people whose lives you have touched, whose faith you have helped to awaken, and I am grateful to count myself among them.

    Love and prayers

Leave a Reply

