Skip to content

New Beginnings and Old Friends

January 9, 2011

Today was a powerful day.  Up north, at Eagle’s Nest Fellowship, my buddy Paul Wilson had his first Sunday as the Worship Director there.  He’s filling my position that I just rolled out of two weeks ago.  Here, Liberty Christian Fellowship had an installation service for me as the new Worship Pastor, as well as, an ordination service for our Youth Pastor, Jamie Smith.  Eagle’s Nest, Liberty, Paul, Jamie, Myself, our church and personal families are beginning new journeys today.  The next season.

At the same time, Paul was surrounded by family and some friends at Eagle’s Nest who have known and loved them for years.  Jamie was surrounded by the students in the youth ministry, his family, and influential people in his life.  I have come back to the place where much of my spiritual formation was set in stone.  I spent every summer out here, from the time I was 10 until I was 17 or so, in ministry with Creative Ministries being discipled and trained.  Today in worship we sang “Wait”, one of the songs that has been a heart cry for me for many years.  The song was written by my buddy Joseph Andrew Sasser who went to be with Jesus in 2005, but his mark on my life was here today as we sang that song.

It is amazing to me how the God we serve really is “working (in and through) all things to the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose”.  Here we are in this moment and the relationships that surround us now and come with us from our past God uses to form us.  What a joy to be called according to His purpose and be a participant in the divine nature.  We were created to be in relationship with our Heavenly Father and in community with one another.  Today is one of those days when I can look around the world I have been placed in and can see it.  For Eagle’s Nest, Liberty, the church families, Paul, Jamie, My self, and our families.  It is good.

I step forward in great anticipation into this new season and celebrate the relationships that have been part of bringing me here.  We will never be the same and we get to share this journey with friends.

I want to encourage you all.  You were made for your Heavenly Father and you were made for community with one another.  The relationships you invest in and, in turn, invest in you, shape your life.  The book of Proverbs has so much to say about being wise about the relationships you keep.  Sow richly into the lives of those God has you walking with on your journey and you too will have those seasons where you are surrounded by friends who have been part of getting you there.

2 Comments
  1. rob westbrook permalink

    today was great and its exciting to be a part of what God is doing at our churches. i miss you brother and i cherish the friendship we have.

  2. Toni Sutor permalink

    May God Bless you all in the work He has ahead of you. I was home sick yesterday, so I saw a message by Joel Osteen titled “HOW OUR HEAVENLY FATHER HAS OUR LIFE ORCESTRAED” He said each event good or bad has a positive message in it if we look at it thru God’s eyes. We need to stay positive and seek God’s desire for lives and follow His example. Challenges are opportunities to do His work.

Leave a Reply

